An Open Letter to Ann Coulter

by pjamesbeardsley

Dear Ms. Coulter,

You write the following in your latest column to try to make it sound as if Romney has widespread support and is, in reality, on pace for the nomination:

…the widening gulf in delegates won by Romney compared to the others — he now has more delegates than all other candidates combined…

I’ve already explained why that isn’t necessarily true, and even if it is, in the very near future it will not be.  You and I both know this.  I suppose you just saw fit to sneak it in this week, while such a statement is mildly defensible, in order to get “I do what I’m told” Republicans to conform and give a loud “KEEP CALM AND CARRY ON” to Romney’s supporters.   It’s not necessarily your line of reasoning; I’m not able to read your mind, but I don’t see any other reason to say it.  As I’ve already made clear, such a statement about the delegate count is not necessarily true, and even if it were, it won’t be one month from now.

If indeed that is your reasoning, I have to wonder why you would take such an approach.  Do you believe that the independents and Reagan Democrats, that the Republican party will need to win 3 of 5 states between Ohio, Virginia, North Carolina, Florida, and Pennsylvania will conform to a candidate that needs such a (mildly misleading at least) message from such an influential person as yourself?  A person who says to Mitt Romney personally, during the primary season, “I hope you’re as conservative as I keep telling people you are.”  A person who says to a conservative audience, “We’re either going to nominate [a real conservative] and win, or we’re going to nominate Mitt Romney and lose.”

Forget the independents and Reagan Democrats.  You’ll be lucky to get the Republicans motivated.

I, for one, applaud the fact that Romney is struggling so much.  It means the Republican Party might actually nominate a candidate who can win, even if that means starting from scratch in Tampa.

You and I agree that all of the Republican candidates are equal to or greater than Obama (also from your latest column), “…it’s true that any of the Republican candidates for president would be an improvement over Obama, it is not true that any of them can beat him. ”  Unless you haven’t been paying attention, and I know you have, you know that Ron Paul is polling better in a head to head with Obama than any of the other candidates.  Indeed, Ron Paul is the only one actually beating Obama. Even more than that, think about the future: Ron Paul is the only candidate growing the Republican Party.

If ‘just beating Obama’ really is that important, why aren’t you showing some support for the one with the best chance to, you know, actually beat Obama?

Sincerely,
Peter Beardsley

